Calling all heterosexuals: time to try lots of gay sex !

I hope all who read the title realize this is meant to be a joke. However, before I get to that, let me explain the scent-related issue that has led me to creating such a title. Over at Basenotes.net, on a thread entitled, “Vintage Cool Water vs Current,” a member who seems to want to be my nemesis had this to say about my view of Cool Water for Men:

Well if you don’t like it then I suppose it is difficult to wear it. But if you wore it more for days at a time, your opinion would surely change. It’s like approaching a performance piece by John Cage and hating it because it seems incomprehensible. The more time you spend around John Cage the more you begin to understand his work. Read about him, etc., it all becomes clear.

I would contend that in fact the opposite of your approach is what is needed. Think not of those who like Cool Water as non-aficionados. This has been established by many to be a great fragrance, albeit a little hard to understand. Those who consistently like CW may in fact be the real aficionados. They’re getting something you are not getting.

Food for thought.

http://www.basenotes.net/t/367591/vintage-cool-water-vs-current

Thus, his invitation to engage in a “food for thought” situation led me to think about what a heterosexual would think if gay people kept coming up to him or her and asking that person to try gay sex to see if it would be enjoyable. I know that I would be uncomfortable with that happening once, let alone over and over again. I’ve had some gay acquaintances over the years and none of them had any interest in talking about any kind of sex, actually, but what is the difference between what this person is saying in an olfactory context and this hypothetical context? The main difference is that I have worn Cool Water on several occasions and disliked it intensely, yet I have never had gay sex (and have no intentions of doing so, regardless of whether people tell me that I should try it, over and over again, because he or she thinks I will eventually like it).

Of course this is something that most people feel more strongly about than something like a flavor of ice cream, or disliking ice cream altogether, but in either example I think just about everyone would think that this notion is simply absurd. It is certainly possible for someone to change his or her mind about preferences. I didn’t like coffee when I was young but then in my early 30s came to like it, for example. Overall, my taste in food seemed to be changing around that time. However, nobody I know keeps trying something that they really don’t like, day after day, in the hope that they will like it, and in most cases people don’t examine that thing the way I have with scents! And in this case the only reason I wear a scent is because I really enjoy it (other than a first sampling on the ankle, which doesn’t affect my enjoyment of the “main” one, which is sprayed onto the chest).

Now if someone wants to think that Cool Water, in any formulation, is the height of aficionado fragrances, my only argument against that notion is that it again seems absurd to argue that one needs to enjoy a particular scent in order to be an aficionado. In many of my reviews I often suggest that a scent is one for aficionados in particular, but I certainly don’t think all aficionados will enjoy it. Vintage Cool Water is in fact interesting (to me) in terms of how much note clash there is, but some aficionados might be seeking that, or they may perceive it as pleasant note contrast, and I have no issue with their choices. Moreover, some might like the newest formulation as some sort of “change of pace,” for instance. However, the claim that this latest formulation is the height of the art or craft of perfumery is laughable. At that point, my advice is to say something like, “I may not know much about perfumery but I know what I like.” I’ve got more scents I consider aficionado fragrances that I can likely ever use in my lifetime, so the suggestion that I try a scent I detest, day after day, in the hopes that I can enjoy it some day strikes me as at least as silly as the title of this thread.

UPDATE: I received a comment that contained extreme nastiness and a lie. This person claimed that I had not tried the newest formulation of Cool Water, even though I have spoken about my experiences with it in detail in at least one previous post. I’ll say it one more time, though I assume I’ll have to say it again: if you don’t like my opinions or my sense of humor, why are you wasting the precious time you possess reading this blog? Please, “move on” and learn to enjoy life. I am all for an intelligent “debate,” but when you use personal attacks and make clearly factually inaccurate claims, what do you think you are going to accomplish?

Leave a comment

Filed under Criticizing the critics.

Leave a Reply

