Seeking a scent for the end of the world.

There are threads on Basenotes.net I simply can’t bring myself to read, one being something like, “what fragrance do you want to wear when you are lying in your coffin?” Now this may be important to some people, but for me this is of no interest. In fact, a cousin of mine died not long ago and before doing so (he was terminally ill) stated that he wanted to be buried with relatives. However, because he died penniless, his sister had him cremated instead. By contrast, there are some threads that I find a bit more interesting (at least in terms of the responses), though I still don’t like to see too many of them posted. These are ones such as, “what fragrance would you choose if you couldn’t have any others?”

The short answer is that I’d chose one and hope for the best. I have no idea if I would soon grow tired of it and not wear any scent for several days before reapproaching that lone bottle. The point is that this is just hypothetical and it’s like asking someone what they would do if they could only eat one kind of meal for the rest of their lives, such as a burger and fries with club soda. How many people ask that question? The reason it’s not a popular “what if” is that few take it seriously. Most people who eat the same thing at every meal have so many other, more pressing issues that it’s not something they dwell on, I’d suppose.

In the case of fragrances, I’ve found that the variety is a major factor in my enjoyment of them. Wearng the same kind of scent two days in a row is not enjoyable and may be outright irritating to me, actually. I realize that those asking these kinds of questions may be “newbies” who think that the responses will be somehow revealing of “deeper truths.” And perhaps they do learn something of value from the responses, even if it’s to not think along these lines. On a Basenotes thread entitled “If you could only choose one cologne, what would be your choice?” there was this response for example:

…choosing one fragrance to live with for the rest of your life… i would compare it to finding your wife or “soulmate” … it takes a long time, a lot of effort, and the willingness to compromise… I found my wife, but I don’t think I’ll ever find a fragrance I would ever settle for… thank you basenotes for making me a whore forever…

A more precise (and probably more helpful) response was:

You mention “one”, but also ask about the ultimate collection.

I wouldn’t worry about the ultimate collection. Too, too many substantial frags out there to choose from.

A good place to start is in categories ( Fougeres, Orientals,etc….) and sample until you find your winners. My best bottle is Patou PH and it would be “the one” if forced to choose.

But, as you might expect, there were several responses in which one scent was suggested, often niche or vintage that are not exactly “versatile,” and in some cases rare or expensive, such as:

Carlo Corinto Vetyver
Or Black (Vintage)
Tiffany for Men
Amouage Jubilation XXV
Mitsouko
Tobacco Vanille
Havana Reserva
Ghenghis Khan by Marc de la Morandiere
Musc Ravageur

or my favorte:

Knize Ten … or Tabac Blond
Arabie…or Chergui
Black Aoud…or Voleur de Roses

…I think I’ll settle for Piper Nigrum!

The person who created the post was very clear in terms of what he was seeking, to be fair, saying:

…I would like to gather opinions of all the cologne lovers here of what would be the ultimate collection. Give me “your” best choice !!! Hope to hear from all of you here.

Again, I rarely read, let alone respond to such posts, but if they help or at least entertain some members, I’m happy for them. And it’s certainly true that I really enjoy certain scents and am able to wear them more frequently than some other scents I really like, but for me the main thing is that I don’t have to make such choices in this “hobby,” unlike some others. It’s a calm and relaxing pursuit, and I would like to keep it that way! And if I hear on the news that the world will end late tomorrow, I don’t think I’m going to be thinking about what scent to spray on that morning.

Leave a comment

Filed under The basics.

Leave a Reply

