A review of Jordache Man (1983?).

You might find a “Jordache” fragrance at your local dollar store. These are meant to be similar to well-known fragrances, and some of them might be quite good, for all I know. However, before this, which I assume is the selling of the name for this purpose, there were at least two original Jordache fragrances created in the early 1980s, one for men and one for women. The Jordache Man bottle has a blue plastic cap that unscrews and a clear bottle. Jordache Woman appears to have a pink cap (take a look on ebay to see some pictures, there as of this writing).

I would call JM an Eau de Cologne formulation (which is what is says on the box), in terms of strength, though longevity is excellent (projection/”sillage” is moderate/fair). The scent is subtle and well blended. I couldn’t find the notes listed anywhere, but it strikes me as having lavender (though without the usual “soapy” quality), cumin, some citrus, and various common basenotes (patchouli, leather, tobacco, oakmoss, etc.), but it’s so subtle and well blended that it’s very hard to tell exactly. One thing for sure is that I’d classify it as an aromatic fougere, though there doesn’t seem to be much coumarin/tonka. It’s not bitter, but it doesn’t come across as sweet. Nor is it dry. Also, it doesn’t have that kind of blending that I call a “sythetic olfactory blob,” which I detest (usually, you will find this in fragrances with low-quality ingredients).

There is some “transparency” here, which is not like the “power frags” of that time. Perhaps because of this, it doesn’t smell “old” and “out of date.” There is no animalic note that I can detect, unless you consider cumin to be one (there may be some clove too). It may be similar to Cartier’s Declaration, but I haven’t sampled that one in so long that I just can’t say for sure. The drydown is also similar to vintage Oscar Pour Lui and of course several others with similar notes and construction (Tuscany Uomo, I’d guess, though again I don’t remember that one as well as I’d like). I have yet to come across such a nicely blended aromatic fougere that retains a nice “crispness” all the way through, and this is what makes it special for me. If I want something with more of an edge (“rougher”), there is my vintage Oscar Pour Lui. All in all, this is a great alternative to those seeking a natural-smelling aromatic fougere with some transparency and no “rough edges,” and if you have patience you can snag a 3 ounce bottle on ebay for less than $20, perhaps even around $10. My new 3 ounce bottle was $11 delivered (USA). The cap was on so tight that I had to use a nutcracker to open it, and I’d guess it hadn’t been open since it was bottled in the early 1980s !

Leave a comment

Filed under Fragrance Reviews.

Leave a Reply

